Santa Monica Pier

Now whilst this may not be somewhere I have personally visited before, it certainly is somewhere I would like to visit in the future. I have seen so many films and televised programmes which are set on the pier, and every time I am in awe of the beautiful lights, atmosphere and most importantly of all, the big Ferris Wheel.

I hate to admit it, but I’ve never been abroad – but I will have been as of next year. Ever since I was a little girl I have carried around a list of places I wanted to visit when I could earn my own money, but to the top of the list has always been the Santa Monica Pier. Opened in 1909, the pier has a rich history, never mind the millions of tourists it attracts to Santa Monica each year.

A highlight for me of the park is the amusement arcade, Pacific Park, which is joined alongside the wheel. I also am a geography student so I love the fact it’s solar panelled too! From the 1920s the pier also has an old carousel which can still be rode on today. Another thing seven year old me would have loved to have gone on.

The pier is also two  opposite piers that run together to form the globally recognised Santa Monica Pier.

A notable film recorded there is Forrest Gump, a smash hit at the box office, as well as many more, for example a personal favourite from years ago, Hannah Montana. Yet, most of all it is probably best known as a setting in the ever popular video game franchise Grand Theft Auto.

My main reason for going there is because I would also love to take a trip to California. Being British the weather there is certainly one thing that pulls me towards taking a trip there. There is only a matter of time before I venture across the pond, with my camera of course, and take a walk along the stunning Santa Monica Pier.

Leave a Reply

